Frequently Asked Questions

1. What is the point/advantage of having yoga qualifications on the national framework?

The BWYQ qualifications have been aligned to the Ofqual Regulated Qualification Framework (RQF) and assigned level 4 attainment as detailed below. Levels of attainment are nationally recognised standards for the achievement of knowledge and skills that a student is required to achieve in order to complete a regulated qualification. The BWYQ qualifications are also assigned a credit value which may be transferable to other educational institutions towards the achievement of other qualifications on the RQF. Students may therefore be able to transfer their achievements between providers. Maintaining these standards through Ofqual recognition allows BWYQ to sustain and ensure high quality learning opportunities and qualifications and to support its parent company BWY as the National Governing Body of Yoga in England.

2. What is an awarding organisation?

Awarding Organisations are recognised by regulatory bodies (such as Ofqual) and develop qualifications according to government, industry or individual need. This section describes the role of Awarding Organisations and their regulatory requirements when developing qualifications.
The BWYQ are accountable to Ofqual for the quality and rigour of their qualification design, delivery and assessment arrangements and are required to operate certain quality assurance systems in order to comply with the regulator’s requirements and conditions of recognition.

What are the key functions of a recognised awarding organisation?
Recognised awarding organisations will:

• develop and quality assure qualifications;
• develop and maintain assessment arrangements and methods that are fit for purpose;
• manage and quality assure the assessment process for each of their qualifications;
• provide customer services to candidates and centres;
• award qualifications;
• provide certificates.
In addition to the above, it is an Awarding Organisation’s responsibility to quality assure all of these arrangements to guarantee continued compliance with regulatory criteria. Further
guidance is given in the Ofqual General Conditions of Recognition.
Contact BWYQ for further information. 

3. What are the different levels for the educational frameworks?

The frameworks in England are:

  • National Qualifications Framework (NQF)
  • Framework for Higher Education Qualifications (FHEQ)
  • Regulated Qualification Framework (RQF) in England and Northern Ireland

Courses in these frameworks range from entry level up to level 8. They use a credit system so that individual learners can study units at their own pace and build these up into qualifications over time. Credits can be transferable between different educational providers.

Levels of Attainment
Knowledge and Skills Descriptors for Level 4 and Level 3

4. What is the British Wheel of Yoga Qualifications (BWYQ)?

The BWYQ is an awarding organisation. It was incorporated as a private company limited by guarantee in September 2010 and the company is a registered Charity managed by the Board of Directors who are also the Charity Trustees. We are an independent subsidiary of our parent company, The British Wheel of Yoga (BWY)

5. What is the relationship between British Wheel of Yoga Training (BWYT) and BWYQ?

BWYT is the training committee of the BWY. It has been approved as a Centre by the BWYQ. BWYT is therefore recognised by the BWYQ as being a centre fit to deliver BWYQ Ofqual regulated qualifications. The BWYT Chair is the Head of Centre. The relationship between BWYT and the BWYQ is a professional training arrangement as stipulated in the BWYQ Centre Handbook and Recognised Centre Agreement. The BWYQ is the regulated and recognised Awarding Organisation that oversees the quality of the qualifications that BWYT and other  Recognised Centres deliver.

6. What are the BWYQ Fees?

BWYQ registration fees are as follows:

Level 4 Certificate in Yoga Teaching – £100
Level 4 Diploma in Teaching Yoga – £150
Level 4 Award in Understanding the Principles of Adapting Yoga for Older Adults – £40
Level 4 Certificate in Teaching Gentle Years Yoga – £60

E-learning fee for Understanding the Principles of Adapting Yoga for Older Adults which is also unit 1 for the Certificate in Teaching Gentle Years Yoga – £30

The above fees cover BWYQ administration, external quality assurance and resources provided for the delivery of the regulated qualifications.

Certificate fees:

BWYQ issue secure e-certificates free of charge via the recognised training centre to successful candidates with courses that have successfully passed the BWYQ external quality assurance procedures, which can take 6-8 weeks after the IQA report and certification request is received by BWYQ. If the tutor knows that a candidate wants to order a hard copy certificate for an additional fee of £25, this can be included on the certificate request form so that the BWYQ coordinator can provide information to the candidate regarding how to make payment to BWYQ.

Hard copy certificates are available to be ordered directly from BWYQ by graduates at any time after original issuance of the e-certificate upon payment of the £25 and ‘replacement’ hard copy certificates are also available for a fee of £25. To make a request for a hard copy certificate or replacement hard copy certificate, graduates should contact who will check BWYQ records and explain how to make payment to BWYQ in order to receive the hard copy certificate by first class signed-for delivery.

The above fees cover BWYQ staff time, cost of foil-embossed hard copy certificates, ink and stationery costs, wear and tear on printer, staff travel expenses, car parking, waiting time spent at post office, plus the extra postage for first class signed-for delivery.

Scroll to Top