BWYQ Level 4 Diploma in Teaching Yoga

A year into the BWYQ Level 4 Diploma I know I am on a special journey.” Level 4 Diploma Student

The Level 4 Diploma sets ‘the gold standard’ for yoga teaching in the UK. You will be expected to spend 500 hours, including 255 Guided Learning Hours, completing this qualification.

It consists of 7 units:

Unit A1:Professional Responsibilities of a Yoga Teacher (20 Guided Learning Hours)

Unit A2:Basic Breathing and Relaxation (20 Guided Learning Hours)  

Unit A3:Preparing for Asana (30 Guided Learning Hours)

Unit B:Approaching Asana, Basic Breath Control and Relaxation (60 Guided Learning Hours)

Unit C:Effective Planning, Teaching, Assessment and Evaluation (30 Guided Learning Hours)

Unit D:The Classical Foundations of Modern Yoga (40 Guided Learning Hours)

Unit E: Incorporating Philosophy, Pranayama, Meditation and Advanced Asana (55 Guided Learning Hours)

In addition, students are expected to have an understanding of anatomy and physiology at Level 3 as acquired through completion of the BWY Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology for Yoga Teachers online course (or equivalent).

See BWYQ L4 Diploma in Teaching Yoga Qualification Overview and Specification  for more information on the pre-requisites to study for this qualification 


For me the Level 4 Diploma in Teaching Yoga was transformational – life changing and life affirming.  Studying with our group of 12 has been such an amazing period of my life.  

Allie John

It’s been a wonderful two years, navigating the learning landscape of anatomy, asana, pranayama, meditation, business, taxes and so much more.  It’s been great having real feedback as I find my voice as a yoga teacher. 

WingYee Loke

For further information regarding this qualification email:

Scroll to Top